1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email

STS-107 Crew

The crew of the Space Shuttle Columbia mission STS-107 consisted of Colonel Rick Husband (USAF), Commander William (Willie) McCool (USN), Lieutenant Colonel Michael P. Anderson (USAF), Dr. Kalpana Chawla, Captain David Brown (USN), Commander Dr. Laurel Clark (USN) and Colonel Ilan Ramon (Israel Air Force).

Kalpana Chawla
Kalpana Chawla: Born in Karnal, India. Died on February 1, 2003 over the southern United States when Space Shuttle Columbia and her crew perished during entry, 16 minutes prior to scheduled landing. She is survived by her husband.

NASA Names Supercomputer After Columbia Astronaut
NASA will dedicate a new supercomputer this week to honor the memory of astronaut Kalpana "KC" Chawla, one of the seven crew members aboard the Columbia Space Shuttle, lost Feb. 1, 2003. The dedication ceremony will be held May 12 at NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.